Wilson-Allison Memorial Prize in Dermatology

The NZ Dermatological Society Inc (NZDSI) has agreed to fund annual dermatology prizes for New Zealand medical students.

The prizes commemorate the work of the late Dr H W Wilson of Auckland and the late Dr P E Allison of Christchurch, who were pioneers of Dermatology in New Zealand.

Criteria for undergraduates

  • There will be two annual undergraduate dermatology prizes, to be awarded to a successful 4th-year medical student from:
    1. Auckland University; and,
    2. Otago University.
  • The award is $750 to each winner.
  • The award is based on an essay of 2000 words or less and judged by the President of the NZDSI and the Heads of the Departments of Medicine, University of Auckland, and Otago Medical School, Dunedin Campus respectively.
  • The prize will be awarded in the 5th year.

2021 Prize

The essay title for 2021 is “Imagine you are a wealthy philanthropist with unlimited funds. Discuss the problem of scabies in the New Zealand-Australia-Pacific area. How will you use your wealth to correct the problem?”.  Discuss the veracity of this statement.

Submit your entry by e-mail to Sue Peck, NZDSI administrator: sue@spconferences.co.nz.

The deadline for entry for Auckland Medical Students is 16 October 2021.

The deadline for entry for Otago Medical Students is 16 October 2021.

The entry must include your contact details: full name, medical school, email address and postal address.

Medical students from other years of study or from outside New Zealand are not eligible to apply.

The Wilson-Allison Dermatology Prize Winners

The 2020 winners of the Wilson-Allison Memorial Prize in Dermatology are:

Otago University- Jamin Kim

Auckland University - Christopher Mayo



The 2019 winner of the Wilson-Allison Memorial Prize in Dermatology is:

Auckland University - Leina Tucker-Masters


2018 Winners announced

The 2018 winners of the Wilson-Allison Dermatology Prize are:

Auckland University - Lizzie Rakhmanova

Otago University - Nikita Quinn